Why I love Jesus

Irene at The Green Greek tagged me for a meme to list 5 reasons why I love Jesus. Thanks, Irene!

1. I love Jesus because He loves me.

I John 4:19: We love him, because he first loved us.

2. I love Him because He has answered my prayers.

Psalm 116:1: I love the LORD, because he hath heard my voice and my supplications.

3. I love Him because He gave His life to save me.

Romans 5:8-9: But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. Much more then, being now justified by his blood, we shall be saved from wrath through him.

4. I love Him because He is God.

Colossians 2:9: For in him dwelleth all the fulness of the Godhead bodily.

5. I love Him because, even though He is fully God, because He became a man He understands and sympathizes with my weakness and temptations.

Hebrews 2: 17-18: Wherefore in all things it behoved him to be made like unto his brethren, that he might be a merciful and faithful high priest in things pertaining to God, to make reconciliation for the sins of the people. For in that he himself hath suffered being tempted, he is able to succour [aid, help]them that are tempted.

Can I add a few more? 🙂

6. I love Him because in Him we have wisdom, righteousness, sanctification, and redemption.

I Corinthians 1:30: But of him are ye in Christ Jesus, who of God is made unto us wisdom, and righteousness, and sanctification, and redemption.

7. I love Him because in Him I have redemption.

Romans 3: 24-25: Being justified freely by his grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus: Whom God hath set forth to be a propitiation through faith in his blood, to declare his righteousness for the remission of sins that are past, through the forbearance of God…

8. I love Him because He is the way, the truth, and the life, and through Him we can come to the Father.

John 14:6: Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

9. I love Him because there is no condemnation to those who are in Him.

Romans 8:1: There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.

10. I love Him because nothing can separate us from His love.

Romans 8:38-39: For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

11. I love Him because He causes us to triumph.
II Corinthians 2:14: Now thanks be unto God, which always causeth us to triumph in Christ, and maketh manifest the savour of his knowledge by us in every place.

12. I love Him because in Him all things are made new.

II Corinthians 5:17: Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

13. I love Him because through Him we are reconciled to God.

II Corinthians 5:18: And all things are of God, who hath reconciled us to himself by Jesus Christ, and hath given to us the ministry of reconciliation.

Ephesians 2:13: But now in Christ Jesus ye who sometimes were far off are made nigh by the blood of Christ.

14. I love Him because he is my peace.

Ephesians 2:14: For he is our peace, who hath made both one, and hath broken down the middle wall of partition between us.

15. I love Him because by faith in Him I became a child of God.

Galatians 3:26: For ye are all the children of God by faith in Christ Jesus.

There are multitudes more reasons, but I think I’ll stop there. And since I have thirteen plus listed here, I think I’ll make a Thursday Thirteen of this post. 🙂

If you’d like to do this meme, too, let me know in the comments.

19 thoughts on “Why I love Jesus

  1. Pingback: A bloggy look back at 2007 « Stray Thoughts

  2. I love Jesus because I can’t help it anymore. I am a sinner and get angry with Him a lot, because I don’t get my way right this second. But it is strange because I know it’s a sin, I tell Him, Lord, I am angry at you, why? I have no reason and no excuse! It is my fault, it is my sinfulness, it is so unfair to you to be angry! Please help me! And then usually this melting glow comes over me, and my hard heart softens. I am not able to do it myself. I try and fail. And that makes me angry often, because I just can’t do a single good thing on my own. But He comes and melts my heart, and He allows me to love Him. And I feel like it’s not even me, it’s Him through me. It’s almost like I am simply being allowed to witness it, to experience it. Even when I am being stubborn, He is so merciful and gentle with me. I don’t really understand love, but I know love. I don’t understand what I feel towards Him, but I know it is love. I don’t have words for it. I can’t help it. I can’t resist Him. He is always good to me. He is always my Rock. He is always there for me to lean on. He never turns me away. He is so incredibly reliable, and so incredibly good to me, the less I deserve it the sweeter He becomes. Jesus is just a sweet man. A kind heart, and a good friend. He is my King and Savior, but oh how much more than that! I can’t help it, I love Him. I love you Jesus, how can I resist You?

    • Thanx for your insightful words and transparent honesty,they echo a lot of my similar feelings as well!I whole-heartily concur that Jesus has been VERY merciful with me and consequently thereby,I too love Him dearly and all the more to an ever increasing degree!Praise the holy name of Jesus Christ the Messiah,for He and He alone IS The King of Kings and the Lord of Lords!-Amen and God bless!

  3. hi, this morning, just before i begin my daily quiet moments w/ the Father, i decided to sing the “Almighty, Unchangeable God”…He did something amazing last night and i was just lead to sing that song this morning when i woke up. So i searched the web for the lyrics and found your page. After which, curiosity was piqued and i started viewing you posts. I was really blessed. I started reading the 100 things bout you- haven’t finished it yet, but will continue soon- and was able to relate…
    im 23 years old, and a “worker” here in China, the Father has lead me here after a life of constant rebellion from Him…and though im away from home, His grace daily proved to be sufficient and all i really needed…
    thanks for this site

    • Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment, Mae. I think China would be a hard place to minister, but God is faithful. I’m glad to have you visit — come back any time!

  4. i ask my self ” how can I love Jesus more”…, i search…then I found your page, it touched my heart…, thank so much….Barbara…, I got The aswered now. From Rebi, Jakarta, Indonesia.

  5. I LOVE JESUS BECAUSE HE DESERVES THE LOVE , HE IS DESERVING OF EVERYTHING AND FOR US TO PROTECT HIM FROM THE EARTH AND THE EVIL STILL AGAINST THE SPIRITUAL SWARFARE we are in . WE ARE ON JESUS SIDE HE WINNS!!! THATS WHAT A BEST FRIEND DOES. PUT THERE ALL 100 PERCENT FAITH TO LAY DOWN FOR THERE FRIEND AND REAL FRIEND. DOES ANYONE REALLY HAVE ONE WELL GOOD NEWS HE IS IT!!! FULLEST AND MOST MEANFUL DETERMINATION OF PURE TRUTH,.LOVE HONORSHIP AND STRENGH AGAINST WILDERNESS (EARTH) ENLIGHTEN HIM AND BE ON HIS TEAM AND STICK UP FOR THE ONE WHO HAS TRUE LOVE AND
    FRIENDSHIP FOR YOU :)))) love Lenore

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

