The Ultimate Blog Party

Ultimate Blog Party
You know, I’ve had the Ultimate Blog Party button on my sidebar for a few weeks, I think, but I’d forgotten it starts tomorrow! Or at midnight tonight, actually, Eastern time.

First of all, thanks to Janice and Susan for this great idea, for hosting this, and for assembling the prizes!

If you’ve not yet heard about this party, the details are here. It’s an open invitation. From the main page it says: “Everyone is invited, regardless of parental status, gender, religious affiliations, etc. This party is about having fun with friends and meeting new people.” So join right in!

Since we are all also hosting each other, I guess this is something like a progressive dinner, huh? Well, come on in, have some munchies and something to drink, and have a seat. I’m glad to have you visit. 🙂

Let me tell you a little bit about myself. This is the last year I’ll be able to say I’m 40-something. 😯 I’ve been married for 27 years to my husband, Jim, and we have 3 boys, ages 22, 19, and 13. None has left the nest yet though my oldest is perched on the edge. I don’t even want to think about it yet. Here are my guys:

My guys

That was the first picture I took with the digital camera they got me for my birthday last summer.

I have been able to be a stay-at-home mom since I was expecting my oldest, for which I am very thankful. I enjoy working with the ladies’ group at church, reading (I often talk about what I’m reading and I try to keep a reading list on my sidebar), writing, decorating, and I’ve just been getting back into crafting in the last few months, inspired by some of the beautiful craft blogs I’ve discovered. I made a separate craft blogroll over on the side.

My little corner of the Internet is kind of a hodgepodge eclectic. Though I am a mom and love to chat with other moms, I didn’t want this to be exclusively a mom blog. I like to talk about a little bit about many things, thus the title “Stray Thoughts.” I’m first of all a Christian, and my relationship with Christ is the center, the hub that connects everything else. I just wrote 5 reasons I blog recently, but the main one is that I hope I can be an encouragement to others, other women in particular. I don’t really consider myself an expert in anything, but hopefully I can share what I have learned along the way as well as learn from others. And I like to have fun, too. 🙂

I participate regularly in the weekly Psalms Sundays, Tackle-It-TuesdayWorks-For-Me Wednesday, and the Saturday Photo Scavenger Hunt. From time to time I also do a Thursday Thirteen and a Wordless Wednesday. Other than those, my posts are made up of my “stray thoughts.” 😀

I hope you’ll come back to visit again, and I am looking forward to visiting you as well! Please do leave a comment to let me know you stopped by. 🙂

69 thoughts on “The Ultimate Blog Party

  1. Well hello my Psalms Sunday friend! :o)
    So, you’ve been married as long as I’ve been alive and that makes me feel rather young…childish….LOL. I hope we can continue to get to know each other because I am sure you have lots of wisdom you could impart on little ol’ me. :o) Enjoy the party!!!

  2. Wow! I just celebrated my wedding anniversary, but have a ways to go before I hit 27 years. Congratulations!

    Have a great blog party. If you have a chance, take a peek at mine. 🙂

    Sarah
    Ultimate Blog Party
    CDN 1, INTL 1, INTL 2

  3. Nice to meet you….it’s great to see you’ve been married with 27 years! Sounds like your boys are very fortunate to have you!!

    Have fun at the party!!

  4. I’ve only been married 3 1/2 months. And I try to blog about all the things that are important in my life, but it does seem my family takes up most that blog! 🙂

    Just stopped in from the P-A-R-T-Y to say hello! Enjoy all the blogs!

  5. Nice to meet you. My husband and I are coming up on our 10 year anniversary this October.

    Had a great time at the party! See you again at the next one.

  6. Just dropped by from the Party… the stray thought thing got me – I have a lot of those too… and I love to write… great how God can use what seems like randomness to one to bless and encourage another. Drop by for a vist if you can!

  7. Happy Partying, Barbara… and don’t worry, being fifty-something isn’t as bad as it once sounded!

    I’ve bookmarked you and will be back to check on you later. For now.. have to go do some more party hopping (glad I don’t have to really cook supper tonight!!!) 😉

  8. How cool! You’ve been home since you became a mom? You go girl! I’ve been home for the last 4 years and just love it. People ask me if I’m bored. I tell them that I’ve never been busier. My husband and I are much happier too. He can focus on his work while I keep house.
    Are you having fun?

  9. I tried to reply to your message on my blog but it didn’t work. You mention that you read Christian Fiction. Have you heard of Karen Kingsbury? She’s my cousin. Love her books.

  10. Hi! Just party hopping, and having a great time. I have four teenagers, age 19 to 16, and the oldest is perched on the edge of the nest, to. She did recently decide to spend another year at home, getting her gen ed credits at the local commity college. This is a tough season of parenting! I njoyed reading your post, and hope you’ll get the chance to stop by my corner of the party and have a virtual cup of coffee.

    ~TaunaLen

  11. We have a lot in common, esp. our children’s ages, and the desire to write about other topics alongside momhood. Thanks for coming to place, and I’ll be back, too. As I travel around blogdom, I see your comments, and I always think, “She is a great encourager!

  12. Congrats on 27 years, what a wonderful blessing. 🙂 My parents have been married for about 30 and my grandparents a little over 50. It’s been a blessing to me to see godly marriages that are strong and have stood the test of time, and I’m sure your children will benefit from that as well. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my party! My first contest is under way.

  13. What a party! Whew! I’m getting tired from all the talking! LOL And all the food, and party favors and such! Wowser, such a fun day!
    I’m glad you have found a place to blog about our Savior freely. I blogged about one of mybirths and it turned into a witnessing opportunity for a reader in Canada!

  14. Yeah – I have had a lot of fun thus far–still catching up from yesterday’s comments. There are some great prizes in the mix too. I am sure I will not win though – I never win. But that is okay. I have met some new bloggers already and I think that is a wonderful thing…

  15. Love your post. I have four boys…two older who are on the verge of leaving the nest…it’s hard. I’m part of the blog party too…So glad you’re blogging and participating. I hope to get back by sometime. I love places where faith is shared and God is glorified.

    Blessings to you!

    🙂 Susan

  16. Hey, Barbara! (Great name, BTW — that’s my mom’s name. 🙂 ) I drop in here from time to time, especially for Thursday Thirteen, but I’m happy to be here for your party, too! Great introductory post!

    I think you described all of this perfectly — it’s like a progressive dinner. Now it’s time for me to make some progress… 😉 Have a great party!

    http://southern-born-and-bred.blogspot.com

  17. My blog is a hodgepodge of stuff too! 🙂 It keeps it hopping I guess! 🙂

    Amydeanne
    ~Party favor hostess @ the 160
    ~ Just following the Ultimate Party Trail

  18. Hi-
    I have enjoyed your party! I too have many stray thoughts and they generally end up on my blog! They have no where else to go! Thanks for making me one of your party stops 🙂

  19. Pingback: “If you come cheerily…” « Stray Thoughts

  20. Hello from the Ultimate Blog Party! I hope to one day be able to say that I’ve been married for 27 years! What a sweet blessing! I can only say 9 for now… 🙂

  21. Woo hoo for 27 years!!! Congrats! And your boys….all 4…..look handsome and happy! Congrats on that too. =)

    Wonderful party post. I am enjoying your blog and hope to get to know you better too.

    Mine’s up finally!

  22. Pingback: Tackle It Tuesday: Catching Up « Stray Thoughts

  23. Hi, Barbara … thanks for stopping by and partying with me the other day! I’m just getting around to some of the blogs, and WHOOOO! I’ve got to take these heels of, because my feet are aching from all the partying! Have an awesome week!

  24. Great party! Its fun to find ladies you have so much in common with. We will celebrate 27 years this year. Our oldest (22) just left the nest for good *snif* although she is only 35 mins away. I love it that you have your testimony linked on your blog. God is so good!

  25. “I have been able to be a stay-at-home mom since I was expecting my oldest.” That is a blessing indeed! No such way of life for me, but God has blessed me with awesome jobs since I have to work!

    And congrats on that 27 years of marriage!

  26. Hi Barbara,
    Thanks for stopping by my party! Congrats on 27 years of marriage, that’s amazing!! You have a very Handsome family! Hope to see you soon.
    Enjoy the Party!
    ~Christine

  27. Thanks for stopping by my blog and for your kind words! (Yes, I was referring to my first husband who passed away and I am happily remarried to my girls Chaddy!) Look forward to reading more about you!

  28. Lovely family and thanks for inviting me to your place. I’ve enjoyed reading a few of your stray thoughts. Congratulations on your 27 years of marriage.

    Thanks for stopping by my party.

  29. Pingback: Works-For-Me Wednesday: The kitchen edition « Stray Thoughts

  30. I loved the Series of Unfortunate Events, and I wish more adults would read children’s books! I’m such a big fan of children’s books! (thanks for the comment on my blog!)

  31. Hallooo from the Blog Party express! Gotta get my visiting in while it’s still party time. I found you from a comment on another blog and am pleased to meetcha! Your family is very good looking. Question: What did you do as a SAHMom after all the kids were in school? Of my 4 kids, only 1 isn’t in school. Come visit The Estrogen Files sometime.

  32. Thank you for visiting my blog party. Today is the last day and I am finally getting around to visiting everyone who visited me. I have enjoyed meeting you!

  33. Pingback: Zonked « Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

