Thursday Thirteen finale

I hadn’t planned to do a Thursday Thirteen today, but I just found out that this is the last one!! The powers that be at the TT hub have decided to close down shop. It looks like there is some possibility of someone else buying the rights and resurrecting it.

I’ve been wrestling with some of the weekly memes. I enjoy doing them and it doesn’t take much time to do them. But I feel if I want people to read my entries, I ought to read other people’s. And I think that’s part of the purpose of TT — to introduce bloggers to each other. But when there are 200+ people who participate in the Thursday Thirteen — there’s just now way to visit all of them, even half of them, and get anything else accomplished. So in trying to figure out where the balance is, I’ve pulled back a bit. But I will miss it. I’ve enjoyed the chance to share something serious or silly with other readers, the real live comments! 😀 (My blog stats show I have readers, but there are just a few who comment when I write my heart out about something. But those who visit and comment on the weekly memes like TT, Wordless Wednesday, the Saturday Photo Hunt, etc., make me feel like I’m not so alone in my corner of the blogosphere.), the weekly visit with some of the “regulars” I’ve come to know through TT, the interesting funny, or thoughtful things I have read on others’ lists.

For this finale for Thursday Thirteen as we know it, here are my favorite past TT posts:

1. Thirteen favorite quotes

2. Thirteen favorite Q&A jokes

3. Thirteen favorite Bible verses

4. Thirteen things you might not know about me

5. Thirteen favorite jokes

6. Thirteen reasons to read the Bible

7. Thirteen favorite CDs

8. Thirteen things I am thankful for

9. Thirteen things to make small groups run more smoothly

10. Thirteen of life’s little pleasures

11. Thirteen one-liners  

12. Thirteen things Suzie the dog likes to do

13. Thirteen whys

It’s been fun! Don’t be a stranger!

15 thoughts on “Thursday Thirteen finale

  1. Barbara, I believe I’ve read most, if not all, of your TT’s. It is sad that TT is shutting down for good. It was often hard to come up with a list of thirteen things, but it was a good meme. Hopefully someone will continue it in some form.

  2. I’ve been participating in TT for the past fourteen months. It’s been a blast and truly, there are some AMAZING bloggers out there which I wouldn’t have known about if it hadn’t been for TT.

    But you’re right – it’s gotten HUGE. I think one week, before all of the bru-haha began, there were over 500 comments!! It’s just too overwhelming. So even though I’ll miss TT, perhaps it WAS time to shut down and move on. There will be other meme’s, some clever blogger will start another blog game equally different, fun and interactive, we just have to be patient. In the meantime, I’ve noticed your name a lot on my linky thing and I wanted to THANK YOU for coming by my blog. Please don’t be a stranger. I’m sure I’ll see you in Wordless Wednesday and Saturday Photo Hunt.

    And I agree, the one-liners post was awesome!

    I will definitely see you around. *smile*

  3. Those are GREAT lists! I can completely relate to the being so shy you would panic if brought into a conversation. In some situations, I am still that way. I am glad you decided to participate in TT this week. It’s comforting to know someone else was that shy!

  4. Thursday Thirteen has come to an end.
    I have enjoyed my visits here and consider us friends.
    Thank you for sharing your thirteens with me.
    The comments you left me filled me with glee.
    It is hard to believe it is really true.
    I am trying very hard to not be blue.
    Happy TT’ing!
    *^_^
    (=’:’=)
    (“)_ (“)Å 
    Raggedy

  5. Hi, Barbara! yes, it IS hard to visit everyone; my family and friends know where I … used to be! on Thursdays. But … onward to bigger and better, right?

    I hope you’ll come visit West of Mars more often. I’ll certainly stop in here more and see how you are.

  6. This is my first time stopping by your blog. I am a newbie to the group – this final TT marks # 3. I love the sense of community that TT has created. I also hope that you’ll keep your lists up as I am truly enjoying what you’ve written here. Thanks for sharing and have a great weekend.

  7. Thank you for all your wonderful lists. I, too, found it impossible to visit everybody – cause I ALWAYS commented, and that just takes time. I stopped in at 50 or so blogs a week, in addition to seeing the folks that left me comments. It’s very time consuming, but I loved it! Please don’t be a stranger. The TT was the only meme I did – no time for more! – so I’ll probably look at some other memes to join. Any suggestions you have would be much appreciated! Have a wonderful weekend,
    DK

  8. This is the first I’ve heard about TT shutting down. I suppose that means they won’t host it from their site any more but I don’t know why that would stop anyone from doing Thursday Thirteens if they want to. I never got on their blogroll or worried about connecting to anyone. It was all too complicated.

    I’m going to run over there and see what’s going on. Interesting!

    (The post about your father was very moving, Barbara. You all had a rough time of it.)

  9. Goodby – So Long – Farewell

    Thanks for the kind words and your great post. I also have enjoyed many of the topics from your TT.

    Your Brother in the Word Mitch

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

