Thursday Thirteen #20: 13 Whys

thursdaybanner4.gif

I’ve been hesitant to post this Thursday Thirteen because I don’t want it to sound like I am ranting or griping and have people leave my blog feeling grouchy. πŸ™‚ I hope you’ll take it in the sense of lighthearted bemusement.

1. Why is it that when I want ink to stay on clothing, such as a name on a label, it washes out or fades, but when I want to get rid of an ink stain, I can’t?

2. Why do people roll their grocery carts in the middle of the aisles?

3. Why do cars speed around me only to slow down and then exit the highway right in front of me?

4. Why does the computer act up the most when I’m doing something essential but only have a few minutes?

5. Why do catalog companies think that if I place an order with them, I might order even more if they send me 50 more catalogs in the next 30 days (only a slight exaggeration)?

6. Why do cell phone users feel that they have to answer the phone in the middle of whatever they are doing when it rings?

7. Why isn’t there something to click on the computer so I can highlight a whole line that I’ve accidentally capitalized and change it back to lower case without having to delete and retype the whole thing?

8. Why do coupons for cereal require you to buy three boxes? I don’t have room for three boxes.

9. Why do makers of ads, especially online ads, think that making their ads more irritating will make me want to buy their product?

10. Why do I remember something I needed at the store and forgot to put on the list just after I get home from the store?

11. Why hasn’t someone come up with better a way to package graham crackers? Maybe it’s just me, but I can’t open a package along the folded edges — I always end up tearing it and then can’t get it closed back up.

12. Why, when people are walking while talking with someone else, do they stop walking and keep talking when they reach a doorway? It’s uncanny how often I find myself behind such a situation, then have to wait until they move on or interrupt them.

13. Why does the phone seem to ring most often when I am in the bathroom?

Oh, well. Life goes on, and we have to keep things in perspective and not get too worked up about things that we can’t change. But maybe someone will see this and figure out better packaging for graham crackers. πŸ˜€

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others’ comments. It’s easy, and fun! Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!
32 thoughts on “Thursday Thirteen #20: 13 Whys

  1. I found myself laughing over this list and nodding my head several times in agreement. Now if you ever get the answers can you post them too?

    I’m new to Thursday Thirteen (haven’t gotten the code yet) and don’t have a list up this week. I’m just enjoying the stroll through the blogs to get a feel for how this works. And I’m loving it so far!

  2. Pingback: -- a metamorphoself of gabrielle

  3. Yea, why don’t… I agree with all of these! Especially the cell phone. I can not tell you how many times I have driven an HOUR to see a friend only to sit there while she chit chats with her next door neighbor! Cell phones are for my convience not the person calling me!

  4. 2. Why do people roll their grocery carts in the middle of the aisles?

    Because it’s better than brushing up against the edges of the aisles and knocking merchandise off of the shelves.

    9. Why do makers of ads, especially online ads, think that making their ads more irritating will make me want to buy their product?

    Because the reward system is broken. Ad managers can’t necessarily measure if their ad drives sales, but they can measure (through surveys)–and therefore, are rewarded on–whether or not people noticed the ad. If they make it annoying–“Head on! Apply directly to the forehead! Head on! Apply directly to the forehead!”–then people notice it and remember it. Even if they remember it as “Isn’t that Head On ad really annoying?”

    7. Why isn’t there something to click on the computer so I can highlight a whole line that I’ve accidentally capitalized and change it back to lower case without having to delete and retype the whole thing?

    Hmm. It seems like that wouldn’t be _that_ hard to do…

    I just did a bit of Googling around, and I found a program called “Clippy” that looks like it might do the trick. I’m going to play with it for a little bit and see if I can get it to work. If it works, I can install it on your computer.

  5. OK, here’s how Clippy works: it converts the text that’s on the clipboard to upper or lower case (or it can do lots of other stuff too.)

    You copy some text into the clipboard (either copy or cut). You then right click an icon in the system tray, and you can click “convert to upper case” or “convert to lower case.” Then you hit “paste” and it spits out the converted text. A _lot_ easier than retyping something, especially if it’s a whole paragraph or something.

    At some point later on today I’ll post instructions on my blog for how to get this thing set up.

  6. Good list. I have gone to the story for one item only. Then returned home with something else and forgot the one item…pathetic I know

    Have a wonderful Thursday
    My TT is posted

  7. Great list!

    You know, I’ve figured out how to keep the phone from ringing while you’re in the bathroom β€” take the phone to the bathroom with you.

  8. With the exception of the one on driving – I don’t drive – I wonder all the same things.
    I bought one item from a company years ago, and I still get their catalogues.
    And the company I buy several times a year from – well I could build myself a house with all the catalogues they send me. LOL.
    Waving at you from New York,
    Frances

  9. That is great. I can relate to many of them, especially the computer one. When you are surfing it is working fine, but when you have something important and time sensitive, it decides to act up.

  10. Oh I didn’t think you were whining or complaining at all.. in fact I agree with everything you said! Thanks for the smile & thanks for dropping by, too πŸ™‚

  11. I don’t think you are whining at all. I have wondered some of the same things. That thing about people stopping in a door and talking or stopping in the middle of the aisle in the grocery store or department store to talk DRIVES.ME.NUTS!!!!!!
    Thanks for stopping by my T13 today.

  12. These were great – I can relate to every single one of them! Especially the catalog one. Things are getting better now, but leading up to Christmas, our mailbox was STUFFED with catalogs day after day and it drove me nuts!

  13. The typing in all caps thing? I’m assuming that you are using Microsoft Word?? If so, here’s what you can do:

    Highlight the text you want to change, click on the ‘format’ button at the top of the page, and click “change case”. It will give you several options, and “lower case” is one of them πŸ™‚

  14. Pingback: Another why… « Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

