Thanksgiving Reading


I thought that this week before Thanksgiving would be a good time to share several Thanksgiving- related items in my files. Next week a lot of people will likely be busy with preparing for the holiday or traveling, so I wanted to go ahead over several days this week and share some things with you.

If you are interested in Thanksgiving devotionals, poems, clip art, etc., here are some great sites:

If you haven’t discovered Creative Ladies Ministry yet, I urge you to visit. Julia has a wealth of resources there. She has several devotionals that are not allowed on blogs or web sites, but she does give permission for them to be printed for ladies’ ministries, etc. (her terms of service are there — read them thoroughly before using). Of course, they are great for personal reading, too. Her Thanksgiving devotionals include A Tisket, A Tasket – God’s Has Filled My Blessings Basket, a Thanksgiving Praise Bible study, and a Count Your Blessings Thanksgiving Bible Survey. There are also links on her home page to her beautiful graphics, some for sale and some free, and links to pages about banquet themes and favors. I’ve perused her site many times over the years for our church’s ladies’ ministry. (Edited to add: I am sorry about the broken links: Julia changed her main site domain and removed some of the things I had linked to. As of 11/11/10 everything is working correctly.)

Elisabeth Elliot has Thanksgiving For What Is Given in her Nov./Dec. 1985 newsletter, A New Thanksgiving in the Nov./Dec. 1987 one, An Overflowing Cup in the Nov./Dec. 1991 one, and To Offer Thanks Is To Learn Contentment in the Nov./Dec. 1995 one, A Dog’s Thanksgiving in the Nov./Dec. 1998 one.

Annie’s Pages have tons of idea. The Make This a Different Thanksgiving page has some great suggestions near the bottom of the page.

(Disclaimer: Though I haven’t seen anything objectionable or anything that I would have a major disagreement with on any of these sites, I haven’t clicked every link or read every word. As with any recommendation, use your own judgment.)

More Thanksgiving -related content on this blog:

Thanksgiving Bible Study
Some Thanksgiving quotes are here.
More Thanksgiving quotes are here.
Abraham Lincoln’s Thanksgiving Proclamation is here.
Thanksgiving “funnies” are here and A “Redneck Thanksgiving” is here.
Thanksgiving poems are here and More Thanksgiving poems are here.

(Though this was posted in 2006, I am linking to it for Kelli’s “Giving Thanks” event this week rather than reposting it.)


17 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Reading

  1. Pingback: A Gracious Home » Bits and Pieces - November 25, 2006

  2. I like Julia’s graphics, they are so pretty. And she does have alot of neat ideas to use for ministry purposes. I haven’t been on her site in years, so thanks for reminding me!

  3. Pingback: Thanksgiving poems « Stray Thoughts

  4. Pingback: More Thanksgiving poems « Stray Thoughts

  5. Pingback: Quotes on Thanksgiving and thankfulness « Stray Thoughts

  6. Pingback: A Redneck Thanksgiving « Stray Thoughts

  7. Pingback: Abraham Lincoln’s Thanksgiving Proclamation « Stray Thoughts

  8. When I click on the Abraham Lincoln’s Thanksgivng Proclamation your website tells me I’m looking for a link or site that is not there. Maybe it could be corrected? Thanks.

    • That’s really odd! I don’t know what happened to that post, but I found it somewhere else online and fixed the link. Thanks for letting me know!

  9. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving Eve! « Stray Thoughts

  10. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving! « Stray Thoughts

  11. Pingback: A bloggy look back at 2012 « Stray Thoughts

  12. Pingback: Stray Thoughts

Comments are closed.